Do Boys Make Passes at Girls Who Wear Glasses?

I have to admit, I was over my illness a while ago, but I’ve been avoiding taking bookings out of vanity.

I usually wear contact lenses. Specifically, I wear the kind of contact lenses that you stick in at the beginning of the month, forget about, and replace in 30 days’ time. I have worn contact lenses for years without any problems and fully expected to continue doing so after my last eye test, only my ophthalmologist intervened.

I’d been overdoing the freedom from face furniture and now have to pay a fine in the form of not getting a contact lens prescription until the blood vessels around my optic nerve look better. Zeus alone knows when that will be, as I don’t have all of the funky equipment that opticians have to hand, so at the moment I am a four-eyes.

I haven’t been taking bookings because I do realise that I am supposed to look a certain way and that “librarian” is not one of the personas I have ever been asked to adopt. Also, without my glasses, stylish as they they may be, I am scandalously short-sighted. I would barely need to be blindfolded for a scene.

I know that there are men out there who do have a predilection for women wearing spectacles (the fetish is “matogyaliaphilia,” apparently), but aside from one very insistent Serbian barman, I haven’t met any recently. Still, I have to admit that I enjoy the difference of my four-eyes persona. It is very interesting to see the sorts of people who automaticaly treat you more seriously if you happen to have your “stern” face and some Emporio Armani lenses flashing.

So be warned: I am healthy and well, and available for bookings. I just happen to be wearing glasses at the moment. If you think you’d be able to cope and would still like to arrange an appointment, by all means carry on. On the other hand, you could wait for me to get back to my contact lenses, whenever that may be.

2 responses to “Do Boys Make Passes at Girls Who Wear Glasses?

  1. Hi Dita.

    If you are still wearing glasses, I think that’s cool. I would think you look great in glasses. Especially JUST glasses.

  2. Luckily for you, Simon, I prefer to work in nothing but skin and my eyewear.

Leave a Reply

